Caltech Home > Board of Trustees Home > Articles of Incorporation
Search Search

Articles of Incorporation





KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, that we, the undersigned, all of whom are residents and citizens of the State of California, have this day voluntarily associated ourselves together for the purpose of forming a Corporation under the laws of the State of California.


FIRST.  That the name of said Corporation shall be


SECOND.  That the purpose for which it is organized is to establish, maintain and operate an institution of learning embracing the different departments, or colleges, of higher education, including those of the various professions; and to provide, for all who may wish, an inexpensive, but liberal, thorough and practical education.

THIRD.  That the place where the institution is to be conducted, is Pasadena, California.

FOURTH.  The directors of said corporation shall be designated "Trustees."  The names, residence addresses and number of the Trustees of said corporation at the time of its incorporation are:


1. A. G. Throop, Pasadena, California.

2. P. M. Green, Pasadena, California.

3. J. W. Scoville, Pasadena, California.

4. E. L. Conger, Pasadena, California.

5. Enoch Knight, Los Angeles, California.

6. W. L. Hardison, Santa Paula, California.

7. C. H. Keyes, Riverside, California.

8. James H. Tuttle, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

9. Jeanne C. Carr, Pasadena, California.

10. Louise T. W. Conger, Pasadena, California.

11. J. D. Yocum, Pasadena, California.

12. E. E. Spalding, Pasadena, California.

13. W. E. Arthur, Pasadena, California.

14. Charles F. Holder, Pasadena, California.

15. George H. Deere, Riverside, California.

The authorized number of the Trustees, which shall be not less than five, may be fixed or changed by a bylaw.  No such bylaw may be adopted, amended or repealed without the vote or written assent of members of said corporation entitled to exercise a majority of the voting power, or the vote of a majority of a quorum at a meeting of members duly called pursuant to the articles of incorporation or bylaws.

A majority of the Trustees of said corporation at any one time in office shall not belong to any one religious denomination or sect, and said corporation shall be maintained and administered as an undenominational and nonsectarian educational institution.

FIFTH.  The name of the only person who has yet subscribed money or property to assist in founding said University, is A. G. Throop, who has subscribed the amount of Two Hundred Thousand Dollars.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands this 12th day of September, in the year of our Lord, one thousand eight hundred and ninety one.

H. H. Markham.

T. P. Lukens.

H. W. Magee.

E. F. Hurlbut.

J. C. Michener.

T. S. C. Lowe.

W. U. Masters.

P. M. Green.

J. S. Hodge.

F. C. Howes.

Geo. H. Bonebrake.

Milton D. Painter.

Delos Arnold.

A. G. Throop.

Lionel A. Sheldon.


I, Mary L. Webster, being duly elected Secretary of the California Institute of Technology, a corporation organized and existing under and by virtue of the laws of the State of California, do hereby certify that the above is a true and complete statement of the Articles of Incorporation of the Corporation adopted and amended by the Board of Trustees of said Corporation and duly filed in the office of the Secretary of State, State of California, on the following dates:

September 23, 1891 Original Articles of Incorporation, Throop University

August 5, 1897 Change of name to Throop Polytechnic Institute

June 7, 1913 Change of name to Throop College of Technology

April 13, 1920 Change of name to California Institute of Technology

September 21, 1945 Change in number of Trustees

December 20, 1968 Provision to revise authorized number of Trustees by bylaws amendment

I further certify that the above-stated Articles of Incorporation have not been rescinded and remain in full force and effect.



February 25, 2009

Mary L. Webster, Secretary